Song From Jonathan

10 Feb

I  wonder what ever happened to honor among friends?

I know you and I are more like brothers, sealed by the blood till the end.

Yesterday the angels told me, what you have done for my boy.

Even my new heart skipped a beat, can’t explain this heavenly joy.

Remember when you took on that giant? Oh, the surprise in my daddy’s eyes.

I’m sorry he became so defiant.  I always said he had too much pride.

Do you ever wield my sword in battle?  Or, still strapping that one of a kind?

Here – nothing resembles a shadow. Closest to a regret is leaving family behind.

But, it’s not over yet, we will always be friends.

They say it was a match made in heaven, and I’ll soon see you again.

But, don’t do anything to hurry,  I’m here forever so don’t worry…

Forever never ends.

Heard you got yourself a new wife.

After you saved the Ark of the Covenant.

I know I could never repay you, for the kindness you’ve shown Mephibosheth.

But, if you were here man, I would So give you a big kiss.

You always were so full of grace and kindness.

But, David, you’ve never even dreamed of anything like this.

Words can’t begin to describe this true heavenly bliss.

But, it’s not over yet, we always will be friends.

They tell me our friendship really was made in heaven.

And, I’ll soon see you again.

But, don’t do anything to try and hurry – I’m here forever,  so don’t worry.

Because forever-Never ends.

.

all rights reserved-©- willis-2001

Image@Oneaccordfilmers

25 Responses to “Song From Jonathan”

  1. Mands February 10, 2012 at 6:03 am #

    Wow, that’s awesome. Thanks for sharing!

  2. island traveler February 10, 2012 at 8:20 am #

    Words that found its way to my heart today. Just moving, inspiring, even giving a much needed sense of hope. Beautiful. Wishing you all life’s blessings. Thanks for sharing.

    • sonsothunder February 11, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

      The same hope we all need…Amen to that.
      paul

  3. GarrickandMary Brown February 10, 2012 at 9:17 am #

    Awesome!!!… Really felt the depth of the great friendship that was between David and Jonathan… Powerful!!!…

    Thanks Paul!!! :)

    • sonsothunder February 11, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by, Sister Mary…Love your devotions…I stand on every word, in Christ.

  4. Bluejellybeans February 10, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

    Very beautiful Paul. Have a wonderful weekend :)

    • sonsothunder February 11, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

      Thank you Vanna,
      I’m getting hungry…Must need to go see what beautiful, tasty recipe’s you have for today.

  5. Caddo Veil February 10, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

    WOW, that is Good! Have a blessed day, weekend, brother!

  6. The Hook February 10, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

    Powerful piece. Friendship is a powerful element of the human experience, isn’t it?

  7. dribblingpensioner February 10, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

    Beautiful poem Paul, keep the good work going.

  8. zumpoems February 10, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    My favorite line: “Here – nothing resembles a shadow” — excellent!

  9. Debbie February 10, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

    This is wonderful, Paul. Sounds like a song to me, a ballad! :) Thank you for sharing!

    • sonsothunder February 10, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

      Yes, it is actually the lyrics to a song I wrote back in 2001…thanks
      Bless You

  10. WordsFallFromMyEyes February 11, 2012 at 4:04 am #

    Friendship. Honour.
    Love. Life.
    People. Souls.
    Hearts. Goals.

    This was beautiful & thought provoking. Made me feel. Thank you.

    • sonsothunder February 11, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

      Thank you N,n, that means a lot coming from you…
      Bless You
      paul

  11. carolbsessums February 11, 2012 at 9:56 am #

    Wow, indeed thought provoking. Made my heart sad and joyful at the same time. Well written. ;)

    • sonsothunder February 11, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

      That’s a good thing though. I mean, emotions are a good thing. Thanks

  12. kateshrewsday February 11, 2012 at 10:26 am #

    Fantastic. Jonathan makes such a study in friendship.

  13. adeeyoyo February 11, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

    Inspiring, Paul. Thank you so much for reposting.

    • sonsothunder February 11, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

      Actually first time it was posted… though I wrote it a while back…thanks
      Bless You
      paul

  14. Johnson April 26, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

    I so loved this… Quite creative. The brotherly love David and Jonathan have is quite an endangered dimension of love. I really liked the way you poetically captured their relationship.

Thank you so much. That is very nice of you.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 787 other followers