‘Roll Away the Stone” Chapter 6


Now that we’ve laid down some stepping-stones that I’m sure will help some of you who may not be fully “Resting” secure in His salvation,  or, quite frankly some who still have doubts as to whether you are actually saved or not,  I’ll now continue what the Lord has put on my heart to do, and that is to speak truth of His love into your life.

I realize you may still be doubting the reality of  salvation, though promised over, and over, through many scriptures and concepts available for those who believe. Therefore, let me assure you that you are not alone in this doubt, and that just because you have doubts does in no way indicate you are not already saved. You may still be thinking you are missing something however, and undoubtedly you are. You may think, as many will say, these are only verses taken out of context, and hold no definitive truth in their single application, or posted intentions. This is why I  asked in the beginning of this series that you use the “Scriptures”  in this writing as a place to begin your own study, while asking for Gods guidance along the way.

Nonetheless, for those who are reading this with a sincere heart-felt desire to know the truth that He says will set you free, the Lord has assured me that you will soon begin to see a glimmer of light shining through from around the edges of the stone which has been keeping you from resurrecting into the person  He wants us all to be. He has shown me, and continues to show me through these very scriptures, and chapters, verse by verse, precept by precept, that He has already saved me, and that the only thing that kept me from blossoming into what He had predestined me to be, (not that I have arrived  in completeness) was doubt that came from the adversary and his seven smoking buddies who are around us at all times, regardless of whose voice they are speaking through. There are also Angels of good around us at all times, though I will not get into any in-depth explanations or explicative discussion of why they are there, or, how I know that they are there in this particular entry. The important thing here, is that we learn to rest in the “Fact” that He is living within us, and that His is the only voice that we need to listen to for what we allow our hearts to accept as truth. Regardless of who you may perceive to be speaking when it comes to the all too many voices, and views concerning salvation, there is only one who can give us salvation, therefore, does it not stand to reason that it is “His’ voice and only His voice that we should accept as truth? Given this thought to ponder, we will move back into His word.

First of all Hebrews, as well as (Numbers 23:19) tell us that it is impossible for God to lie.

 That by two immutable things, in which it was impossible for God to lie, we might have a strong consolation, who have fled for refuge to lay hold upon the hope set before us:                                                      Hebrews 6:18

Now, we already know this as truth, (That God can’t lie) in just the realization that He is God. Although, there are some still battling within the court rooms of their own hearts, and minds, as to whether that fact in and of itself is of a truth. Rest easy again if this is part of what is keeping the stone from rolling away from your heart, or hindering you from realizing, and accepting His promise of salvation, because, if this is the case, you will by no means be the first person on God’s green earth who has wanted to believe, yet in their own minds did not have sufficient evidence to base an absolute belief in.

Again this is an area where I will not address in detail at this time. I will say though, that I am one, who based on what it took for me to believe there is a God, doesn’t think salvation always begins with a total leap of blind faith, but rather in my case, a decision to give God the opportunity to reveal Himself to me.  I believe He, along with an innate curiosity to seek God, or, the meaning of life, as it were,  gave me incentives to build “Faith” on, and therefore, my personal faith was built on much evidence. Albeit, not the scientific, tangible evidence so many (including myself) start out expecting as the only “Logical” means to a conclusive end, but, I know the things He’s shown me in my own life in spiritual revelation, and manifestations are far from being happenstance.

Some scoff  at the mention of miracles. But, though they may have been mere acts of kindness, and mercy from God to spark my interest, they always showed up just in the nick of time to save my “Physical” life. Furthermore, showing up on so many occasions, in areas of dire need, and though maybe perceived by some as mere“Fate” (whatever that is)  God’s presence, as invisible as it was to the naked eye, was always undeniable, therefore spiritually tangible to me. I believe the evidence He has shown me to be deliberate and very real.  In fact, accompanied with the promises, and guiding light of His Word it is more than convincing enough to stand against any view, or accusation that may say otherwise, regardless of whom they are spoken through.

Now, back to assuring those having doubts that there is a God.  I believe based on personal experience what the Word has to say in Isaiah  55, but, I’ll just let the Word speak for itself.   No Pun Intended.

So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it.                                       Isaiah 55:11

Now because of what this verse, and many others like it throughout Gods Word have to say, I know that all things addressed here, and specifically those from His word, will help roll the “Stone” of doubt, fear, and deception away from all    who read it regardless of whether they are doubting the existence of God, or just doubting that He can, or has already saved them. Therefore, I’ll reiterate quickly that most, if not all of the people God used throughout time,  highly esteemed in many of our thoughts, having been greatly used of God, and in many cases on the front page of  the: “Bible Hall of Fame,” have also had their moments of doubt either before their conversion into trusting Him, or during the many test He put their faith through.

In the book of Mark, chapter 9, we find Jesus about to cast what the King James version calls a “Dumb” spirit out of the son of one of the men among the multitude that followed Him,   Many of the Church today refer to this particular part of scripture as the “casting out of the “Epileptic Spirit”.  However we see the spirit, it is an unclean spirit of torment to the boy, and Jesus cast it out. The thing I find most amazing in this passage is that, even after seeing many other miracles, many of those present, seeing with their own eyes still needed some sort of convincing. God understands that we may at first have doubts and is willing to help us if we ask. He also never cast those who already believe out  for being held back by doubt and confusion which is brought on from the adversary. Here’s what the father of the son, who was stricken at childhood by the foul spirit, said to Jesus, after Jesus said to him that all things are possible to those who believe:

And straightway the father of the child cried out, and said with tears, Lord, I believe; help thou mine unbelief.                                             Mark 9: 24

I ask only that you take a closer look at these areas of scripture, and see where you may find the real fear. Is it from Gods word ? Or is it from the all too many voices and views or interpretations of Gods word? Oh, and by the way, did I mention that Jesus spoke the words; “Do Not Fear” 365 times in the Bible? That’s one time for every day of the year. Think about it. Should there be any doubt that He who said, “if you continue in my word you are truly my disciples” would not keep any of His other promises?

©paulwillis-2010

 

Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.                                                                                                                                   Matthew 11:28

( Continue reading chapter 7 @ link below )

Please let us know you were here- like, or leave a comment. It only takes a second.

