A Walk On The Water or, “Peter’s Song”


[tweetmeme source=”sonsothunder” only_single=false]

We struggled with the oars, we rowed so hard for the wind was in our face;

Must have been around three AM and we  were stranded in the same place:

An even more concern, we must have been turned, from the fury of the wind and the waves;

Someone shouted who goes there, it’s a ghost from long lost days;  And we heard:

( Chorus )   ( Be of good cheer, it is I , be thou not afraid: I said;

Lord if it’s you, let me walk the water too, only by His hand I was saved.

He boarded the ship and the wind lied down, we were so amazed;

The only words to describe His wonder are pure amazing Grace:)

stanza 2>

I remembered today on the shore, How did it slip my memory;

With just two fish and five loaves of bread, He fed five thousand families:

I thought my Lord, we get this ship to shore, there’s nothing I wont do for thee;

For surely you are the Son of God, and truly now I believe:

Photobucket

( Rock Pace Slows)  refrain

I was so lost, oh drifting out to sea, oh such a cost, my Lord payed for me;

I was grasping for a breath, I knew would be my last, but one touch of His hand:

Oh my emptiness it passed, when He said:

(Chorus)  Be of good cheer, it is  I  be thou not afraid; I said;

Lord if it’s you let me walk the water too, only by His hand I was saved:

He boarded the ship, and the wind died down, and we were so amazed;

The only words to describe His wonder are sweet amazing Grace.

(Guitar Solo)

stanza 3>

Now if you’re sinking fast, in an ocean so vast, all you see are deep and blue;

And everyone you meet seem to add to your defeat, and they  steal the last hope from you:

Now it wont be long, until your breath is gone, I must admit it is true;

Or, you could sink to your knees, and cry Lord,  I believe, and He’ll say the same words to you;

(chorus)  ( Be of good cheer, it is  I,  be thou not afraid:

Lord if it’s you let me walk the water too, only by His hand you’ll be saved:

He’ll board your sinking ship and the wind will die down, and you’ll be so amazed;

The only words to describe his wonder, are pure amazing Grace: )

(repeat chorus )

©


Protected by Copyscape Online Plagiarism Tool

6 Comments

  1. Wow Paul this is really good. Yes, the words ‘I believe’ are powerful and I can certainly use this =). What a great affirmation.

    Faith is a gift, how blessed we are that we were given it. Continue to share, Paul…

    *Jeannie
    P.S. I have a friend I’m sharing this to. his name is Denver

    Like

    • Thank you Jeannie,
      Yes, please do show it to anyone you wish. I also wrote music to it, or, I played and sang it for a while, but, I don’t have any recordings, and don’t actually read or write music on paper. I would really love to hear an aspiring young Christian band pick it up though. Anyway, thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      God Bless you
      paul

      Like

  2. This is so good! And the story of Peter’s walk on the water (including his sinking and rescue) is one that the Lord has used so many times to increase my faith in the midst of a really serious storm. Thank you for being obedient and writing this.

    Like

Please let us know you were here- like, or leave a comment. It only takes a second.

