“God’s Proverbial Hickory Stick”


(Stanza 1)

Well I don’t look all that churchy;

With my hair hanging down.

And this fire might have flickered

a time or two, but it ain’t never

Eye of God

going out... My heart has been commissioned;To spread the Gospel word.Hey, it may differ a little from man's traditions on a few things that you've heard. Last night I met a lady;Oh she was dressed to turn some heads.She offered me a walk on the water that she and I use to tread. I'll admit, I was tempted;But I turned to her and said; I must be about my Fathers business;and I smiled as I bowed my head.(chorus)Cause Honey I'm not that same old man;And you can't pluck me out of His hand.I'm accountable to...all the wrong things that I do.I can't be Jonesing for your fix...stereotype75

Or say that the Devil’s up to his old tricks.

Cause I ‘m the one who will feel the licks;

From God’s proverbial Hickory Stick…

And honey you’re as pretty as you’ve always been;

I just can’t go back now to living in sin.

Sometimes it’s easier said than done;

Just ask God’s only Son.


(Stanza 2)

Well, I know He came to save me;

So I  try to walk the line.

So when this fire has flickered a time or two,

He put that hickory stick on my behind…

He will never leave or forsake me;

or turn me over to a reprobate mind,

cause it’s impossible to put Him back on the cross…

were all appointed to die just one time.


(chorus)

And honey I’m not  that  same old man;

and you caint pluck me out of His hand.

I’m accountable to…all the wrong things that I do;

I caint be a Jonesing for a fix,

or say that the Devil’s up to his old tricks.

Cause I’m the one who will feel the licks;

From God’s proverbial Hickory Stick.

Yeah you’re as pretty as you’ve always been;

Just can’t go back now to living in sin.

Sometimes it’s easier said than done;

Just ask God’s first born Son…

(Repeat Chorus)

Join us@ Christ Chat


copyright 2000-2010

9 Comments

    • Thanks Trapper,
      Probably would flow a little better if you could have heard it to the tangy sounds of my Telecaster back when we were actually playing it @ some churches and functions. Not to try and say that we sounded as good as him or anything, but you could probably play the music from anyone one of Allen Jackson’s songs in your head, and fit these words right in.

      You will probably enjoy this writing too, of how a twinkle in a child’s eye is all it takes sometimes to change an otherwise gloomy day into a beauty.

      http://fromthepews.wordpress.com/

      Like

  1. Paul,

    You are just TOO KIND!! :D

    Oh, and I wish I could HEAR the song!
    The Lyrics are Awesome!

    I Love the Beating, So Truly Love the Beating, LOL!!
    Now, am I twisted for laughing at that?

    I guess it’s a nervous sort of laughter. Cuz’ I’ll be lucky if that’s ALL I get ;)

    TAKE CARE and MUCH LOVE AND BLESSINGS!!

    Like

    • lol, Well, I can relate to that…but, as Hebrews 5 or 12 or 12:5 …or somewhere in that area tells us, it’s when we are NOT getting the occasional chastening of Gods proverbial Hickory stick, that we should be more than just a little concerned.
      God Bless you
      paul

      Hebrews 12:5
      And ye have forgotten the exhortation which speaketh unto you as unto children, My son, despise not thou the chastening of the Lord, nor faint when thou art rebuked of him:

      Like

Please let us know you were here- like, or leave a comment. It only takes a second.

