“U S S Constitution”


Aye,,, matee’s

Tis me again, the ole Seadog…n with anather sea-faring tale of suspense, history, and action far yar readin entertainment. The USS. Constitution was the first requisitioned ship to stand against foreign tyranny towards the newly found United States of America, by none other than the father of the nation George Washington hiself…and Aye..she’s still afloat today.

Hard to believe um shore, but, still be a sitten et pier one, roit et the end of the historically  famous “Freedom Trail” in Bahston, Massachusetts. You can see it today…yes, nuthing too hard to see, should one decide to go thar and make thar presence be,,,Nuthing to hard far shar…like far the Constitution, thar was never too hard a sea…

Falcon 1 Album

Between the years 1794 and 1797 USS Constitution was under construction at Edmund Hartt’s shipyard in Boston Massachusetts . One of six frigates authorized by George Washington for construction by declaring the Naval Armament Act March 27, 1794, the Constitution launched at Boston harbor for the first time October 21, 1797.

She set sail on her first cruise, July 22, 1798. It was a cruise which took her and 450 sailors to the Caribbean seas. She was off to do battle in the undeclared;  “Quasi-war between the United States and France. A war fought completely at sea, and lasting for three years.

She made good wind to the Islands, and stood high in the water, as well as in terms of battle and defense during her first tour. After returning to Boston from the Caribbean, the Constitution was “Mothballed”  ( in today’s terms ) for about  two years. The Navy term for mothballing in 1801 was “In Ordinary“, meaning that the mast, rigging, sails, guns, and navigation equipment were all removed from the ship and stored inland, while the ship itself remained dry-docked for repairs.

By 1803, Constitution was boastfully ready for another tour of duty in another war should one arise in need of her services. That, of course wasn’t a problem as one had swollen the North African seas for the newly, now unprotected  ships of United States since the day that she went in ordinaries, in 1801.

Though British merchants, coastal dwellers, and fishermen had lived in fear of becoming slaves or killed by marauding Pirates commissioned by the Ottoman Empire as early as the late sixteenth century, by the late seventeenth century, Britain had begun paying the Algerian countries subsidies for safe passage of British ships. This did not completely stop the North African countries from taking British subjects from land, home, and sea and selling them into slavery. Still, British naval power, and diplomacy carried much weight in the shipping department.

Prior to the Revolutionary war, colonized America’s ships were under British naval protection, and tributary umbrella. During the Revolutionary war with England, the  states allied with the French, wherein France was under treaty to the nascent U.S. maritime safety with the signing of the 1778 treaty of Alliance.

By 1783, however, the U.S. had burned more than a few bridges, and therefore nothing shy of  a formidable Navy of their own, ferrying  state of the art super-vessels could get them through the ravaging pirated waters of the Barbary coast.  Collectively, the U.S. had payed millions of dollars  (most of which borrowed ) of ransom, and tributes to the corsair piloting pirates,  and at long last decided enough is enough.

Accordingly, in 1803, after resting and repairing her battle wearied hull from the three-year Quasi-War with France in the Caribbean, USS Constitution heads off on the blue horizon as the flagship of the U.S. Mediterranean Squadron to do battle with Muslim pirates, princes, and Algerian corsairs.

By 1805, the United States went unchallenged both in seaport, and the open waters of the mid-eastern joining seas. Nonetheless, the USS Constitution and her crew of valiant seamen continued to patrol the Mediterranean until 1807. She spent the next two years under repair in New York, and patrolled the U.S. Coastline as the flagship of the Northern division of ships for the protection of the American coast until 1810, and was  the Northern Squadron flagship until 1811.

Setting sail in August of 1811, the ships tinier took her across the big pond on voyage to France, England, and Holland.

All of what the USS Constitution had been through thus far was admirable but relatively ill-noted as far as public awareness until the one year cross sea voyage was complete. From whence most of her notoriety and claim to fame would arise to surface was the eminent war of 1812.

Cannon balls fired from British ships striking her thick hulled sides were bouncing off and dropping to the depths of the sea like rocks thrown by little boys at cypress trees, bouncing into the swamps below.

She proudly sailed the war while taking many merchant ships, and defeating five majorly feared British battle frigates;  one being the “Guerrier“.  It was the gallant stance against, and capture of the Guerrier, that gained her the famous name “Old Ironsides”.

Fighting on two years after that,  she took the HMS Java,  HMS Cyane, and the latter of the British brutes, the HMS Levant on February 20,  1815.

At 36 years old, the young lassi was seen moored in many harbors around the world even for the next 64 years . Her assignments ranging from training missions, to a two-year around the world cruise, and  transporting American exhibits to the Paris Exhibition in 1878, before coming home to Boston for her 100 year birthday party in September 1897.

Though she had served as a receiving ship in Portsmouth New Hampshire, and part of an Apprentice training Squadron from the time of her arrival back from the Paris Exhibition, the Constitution remained on exhibition her self for the better part of 116 years, and never sailed the high seas under her own power again…

Until 1997, just months before celebrating her 200th birthday.

The great Tall Ship Parade leading charmer is visited still today, (as Queen Elizabeth II did July 4th, 1976 ) at the end of the famed freedom trail in Boston Massachusetts.

Mr Green Jeans Photobucket

Mr. Green Jeans Photo-Bucket

Visit us @ LandtiQuaSeas.com

26 Comments

  1. Boston is not that far!

    I LOVE your MARITIME POSTS!

    That Sea Dawg, he’s my FAVORITE Writer I tell ya. No one can tell a Tale like he can ;)

    If not this Summer, perhaps this Fall, I’ll see if I can convince my Husband to head down to Bahston. Sides, I hear they have some real good food ;)

    Much Love and Blessings!!

    Like

  2. Oh! What a super site. I acquired here by situation, through my friend’s site. I like your texts. They are truly fascinating. And I’m thinking if I could use a component of one’s texts in my phrase peper. Please write me back if I can. Thanks.

    Like

  3. Oh! What a super webpage. I acquired right here by situation, as a result of my friend’s web page. I like your texts. They’re very exciting. And I’m considering if I could use a component within your texts in my term peper. Please write me again if I can. Thanks.

    Like

  4. When I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now every time a comment is added I get 4 emails with the same comment. Is there any method you can take away me from that service? Thanks!

    Like

  5. That i quite enjoy what you may submit right here. Really informative together with reasonable. A particular concern though. I’m running Firefox utilizing Debian together with segments to your active web design sections would definitely be a bit of wonky. That i realise it’s no standard arrange. But it’s an issue that will hold in the mind. That i wish that this will probably assistance together with keep the best superior posting.

    Like

  6. I needed to say that it really is great to find out that a different person also talked about this as I experienced challenges searching for exactly the same tips elsewhere. This was the first spot that told me the answer. Kudos.

    Like

  7. Hi there, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam feedback? If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can recommend? I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any support is very much appreciated.

    Like

  8. Aye, I seen er mate, and she was as fine as I had left her in 1815. They had done a bang up job on her restoration. The onliest difference I seen was some fluorescent lights had been installed on the gun deck. Her ensign had shed two stripes and gained 35 stars. I had wanted to make that trip since the end of the war. I finally done it in 2007. I am now more than 200 years of age, so don’t reckon I will make it down there again. Shoot me a email lad, and I’ll tell ye of them years when I served on board.

    Like

  9. This really makes me want to go and visit ol’ Ironsides and photograph the experience! I’ve passed by it and seen it in the distance several times while in Beantown but never made the trip to the dock. I think I’ll be a good patriot and visit her sometime.

    Like

    • Yeah, when you said you were coming to check out the nautical stories I noticed you are from Cape Cod…nice…I’m sure you have a few Maritime tales to tell of your own…
      Thanks for stopping by…if you haven’t hit the “Like” button on the Weekly Photo Challenge : distorted yet, I’d appreciate it…I’m shooting for 100 before moving on to something else.At this time, if you were to hit it now anyway, I think you would make # 93-95, Don’t recall right of…but, I’ve never had near that many comments, or “likes”… So, thought I’d try for the 100 mark before posting again…probably the last time I ever see that many faces/gravs on any of my post again..
      Bless You
      paul

      Like

  10. Its such as you learn my mind! You appear to
    know a lot about this, such as you wrote the guide in it or something.
    I feel that you can do with some % to force the message home a bit,
    however other than that, that is wonderful
    blog. A fantastic read. I will definitely be back.

    Like

Please let us know you were here- like, or leave a comment. It only takes a second.

