If Only I Had A Turtle Shaped Bread Pan


This was my first attempt at baking an animal shaped sourdough bread. Don’t even ASK why I tried … Okay, go ahead and ask. Yeah, probably because I AM turtle slow at preparing the dough.

Actually, while kneading the dough I left it alone, to go see why Marcos Ambrose hit the wall in the Richmond Nascar Race on the Tele. I mean, of course, other than the obvious that he’s a Tasmanian Devil, and should have stayed the Champion he was in the …

From Wiki-Pedia, or, Richard Petty Car Owners ..or .. well just sue me...

Australian Grand Prix, and British Formula One and left the real race car driving to us REDNECKS !!!   Hehe  I’M KIDDING!!!

The man is an awesome driver, and I am not only proud of him winning his first Nascar Sprint Cup race at Watkins Glen, New York, last month, but even  MORE   proud to have him as a resident of my home state of  North Carolina…where all the Great Drivers Are From…or at least .. reside.

Except for Mario, ( Nazareth, Pennsylvania)  and his wife, Dee Anne, who taught him to speak English in 1961, and apparently only taught him

mario-andretti-and-nicole-small Whom Ever She Is

two words,   I DO,   And the rest is history…

I actually thought that was a funny-pun …till I tried to find a picture of Mario with his wife… and not just another movie star, or floozy dressed in nothing but a skimpy checkered flag …

But,  I finally found JUST ONE..of him and his wife on his official web-site  and she ain’t the girl in the picture next door >( I might also mention,  for a speed demon, don’t expect his website to be a fast loader)

 Okay,  I’m sorry, this IS  a Tortes Tale and not a Rabbit Trail.

So there I was… S  l  o  w  l  y  K  n  e  a  d  i  n  g  t  h  e  D  o  u  g  hzzzzzZZZzzz  Huh, Qu..wut??  Zzzz   Oh…  yeah okay…so, there I was..?,

Oh…Yeah,  when I came back to the kitchen I noticed I had left the bread ball all alone, looking more like a Turtle than a loaf of bread…So I quickly pinched out a head, and poked two “Cloves” in his eyes…and

Dude!!! Wake Up !!!

Okay, Okay…so then I decided;  Hey this is going to be a real masterpiece… (maybe,.. If  I had a Real Camera)

I didn’t take into account yet that the Turtle shaped raw dough, would also require a Turtle Shaped Pan to remain that way.

So, anyway,.. I baked it…

Voila' "ONE TURTLE TURD BALL"

You of course will want the recipe right- a – way, I’m sure:

I’ll give it to you…but first, I have to run to the Grocery Store and grab a bottle of expensive wine…

Let’s see…This is on close out sale: “Fat Bastard” Chardonnay ( For Real ) …whoa…let’s see… Here

I picked up a …………………………………………………………………   And then I  ran into ….her

Walmart Girl

Hmmm… am I really awake?

Okay… just in case..here’s the recipe… But .. don’t forget, whether you HATE Nascar or not.. you are going to love “Marcos Ambrose” so please watch the videos at the end of the article.. I realize the post is lame..but, one thing is for sure… We are the people of Walmart, and the people  of   Walmart …have no shame…

People of Walmart

Ingredients

  • 1 cup sourdough starter
  • 1 1/2 cups warm water
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • (I used Honey Instead)
  • 1/2 cup corn oil ( I used garlic infused olive oil)
  • 6 cups bread flour
  • If you don’t know Sourdough Starter see my post called: The Sweetest Sour I know

Directions

  1. Mix sugar, corn oil, salt, water, and 1 cup of sourdough starter together in a large bowl. Sift the flour and add to the mixture. Grease or oil the dough. Place the dough in an oiled bowl, cover, and let rise overnight.
  2. The next day, ( Though I only waited 3 hours this time ) knead the dough for 10 minutes. Divide in half, and place into two greased 4 x 8 inch bread pans. Allow the dough to double in size.
  3. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 40 to 45 minutes, or until bread is golden brown and taps hollow. Turn out to cool on wire racks.

On this one I added chopped tomatoes, fresh parsley, and dried Basil Leaves…Plus topped it with Honey, and greased the baking dish with garlic infused olive oil.. But, you can improvise.

Please take a look at Marcos Ambros’s videos … even if you don’t like nascar…you’ll love a sweet success story…and believe me… @ 200 miles an hour, Ambrose is MUCH faster than any turtle, or me baking one…
His First Win…the following week:  

Dude…you think I could get some “Wheels”?

you know what…you’re going to need some wheels:

Till next time…this turtle was a little slow…but He sure tasted like fast  sourdough.!!!

16 Comments

  1. hey there, i was just browsing and saw that you made sourdough, so did I – yesterday!! I LOVED that stick guy marathon comic.. funny.. and yes I did wonder why you made your sourdough look like a turtle! have a great sunday.. c

    Like

  2. Hi Paul.
    I am so impressed.
    Making your own bread!
    AND in a funny shape.
    Before you get a swollen head the following also impress me:
    People who enjoy housework.
    People who think running is fun.
    People who write poetry.
    Only kidding…I really AM impressed with your bread. :)
    Thank you for the visit.

    Like

    • Well, my head continues to grow, as I fall into every one of the categories of things that impress you…except for enjoying housework…and running, and poetry…well, I do write poems still now and then. But never while running, or doing housework. In fact, with my old legs these days…I’d probably run like the turtle…the one made of bread even.
      God Bless You and thank you for dropping in too.

      Like

Please let us know you were here- like, or leave a comment. It only takes a second.

