When America Became Detroit


Own a piece of ye Old Wild West;

Towns for sale, North, South…

standing abreast.   Right

here  in this once great U.S.

of  A…

Why, you can buy Towns,

Counties, Gold Claims, and

more. Almost like the Walton’s,

at Ike Godsey’s store

only, you don’t have to  leave

the house. Pay-pal,  you,

the click of a mouse,

buy’s  it all

on Ebay.

I  remember  life

when time was free, although

many soldiers died to afford it me.

Might have realized those rights

had I lived in a democracy. Hey,

where National intent is hidden on a shelf…

might be wise, make note to self…

Capitol Hill is  sovereign alone…

don’t need no little people

tagging along.

Of  Course

you’re still expected

to send them

all they’ve

allowed

you

to

b

.

And They Were Singing…

Detroit City

Bye Bye Miss American Pie…the day the music died

9 Comments

  1. Sorry I haven’t been around much lately, but my book, The Bellman Chronicles, will be FREE to download on Sept. 10 – 11! Check it out on my Amazon Kindle page.. You won’t be disappointed. And if you can slip me a review, I’d be forever grateful…

    Like

  2. Your poem is just great, truly great. I clicked on the Waltons store (I used to watch The Waltons – I thought it was that store!)

    The video though, it was rich, RICH was art, statement, emotion. That Marilyn/Miss America in the coffin…

    I don’t know why they were chanting ‘we want freedom’ though – is not America still free? Or only for the rich. As for freedom of speech… Wikileaks does come to mind.

    From what I’ve read in the blogosphere at least, there’s a fair surge of sentiment re America & how it is not its original ideals any more. That’s the start, always, for change…

    Great to drop in, SonsOf. I chose a choice post/day to drop in. Best to you :) N.

    Like

Please let us know you were here- like, or leave a comment. It only takes a second.

