Surf Daddy Project


I’ve always wanted a Sea Foam Green, or Surf Green guitar,.. and, as luck would have it… I had the perfect suspect just waiting to hang- ten Yes… just one more too many (IMO) “Black”  Stratocaster Guitars.100_2162
While researching for the project, or, “Surfing” the Web… pun intended, I learned there was a whole new genre of music circling these rare, highly  sought after vintage colored guitars. 

Actually, it’s not a new music genre at all, but re-emerged phenomena called Surf Music The“Surf” sound – began on the beaches of  Southern California circa 1963, and was all but “wiped out” by ’67 by the-“British Invasion” of pop and rock groups, with styles such as the Beatles, the Stones, the Animals, the Kinks, and Gerry and the Pacemakers… to name a few.  Although the colors, Sea Foam Green, Surf Green, Bahama Green, and their variants go back to the 50’s, “Surf Music” didn’t officially wash ashore until the  60’s.

No need to bore you with the whole paint stripping process, so100_2161 without further ado here’s my version of  a “Surf” Guitar.100_2188100_2184100_2185 These photos, of course… were taken in the closet… during the drying process.   (Temps were much warmer there.)

As far as the actual color they vary depending on the manufacturer — Going by the Fender Color Chart the one I chose is probably more of what they call “Ocean Turquoise.”

100_2187100_2186

It’s probably no secret that great guitars aren’t born of  vintage aesthetics shiny hardware, and pretty paint, but, more from its tonal properties, and playability. Which is why I ordered a new bridge, and block tremolo assembly, and added the Custom made Canadian Rock Maple neck, with Celtic Cross inlay,( for a little added eye-appeal), and a new set of    “Fender”  staggered machine head tuners.

100_2174 I’ve also entertained the possibility of replacing the original pickups with a more vintage type, such as the Gibson P90’s, or a variant, known for their crisp, clear, punch attributed with “Surf” music, but, after re-wiring everything, double grounds, and shielding, the original bridge position double humbucker pickup seems to “Surf” on its own, and the neck and middle position “pups” have a sweet sound of their own as well.

Here the project is still in its beginning stages… erm, well with me… nearly ALL modding projects are never-ending. It’s a lot like writing songs… bOB sEGER“what to leave in – what to leave out”  

Anyway…Oh, also I couldn’t help but add a little artificial ‘Relic-ing” on the body when I was painting it. Relic-ed guitars are almost as big of “The Latest Craze” as are “Surf” green guitars, as seen in the pictures of this brand new Fender pictured below. A real bargain at only $6,499.99 bucks… and yes, I said a brand new guitar. As seen here:  themusiczoo.com

Fender_CustomSHOP_69_Stratocaster_Seafoam_Green

Geez, now that everybody wants a “Surf”, or “Seafoam Green” relic-ed guitar…maybe I no longer want one so much…

Oh but it sounds so good 100_2197100_2198 – I’ve even learned a few ‘Surf’ tunes.  Anyway.. here it is… the “Surf Daddy- Moondoggy – What-Chama-Call-it” um, – Thing!100_2196   You’ve got to admit — even with my personal faded relic look…it’s an improvement over…One more “Black” Stratocaster-right?
Cheers

9 Comments

  1. Oh, it’s beautiful! I love it. I used to “play” at playing the guitar, but I’m primarily a keyboard person, and I never did get the time to do it all. I’d like to play the flute too, but work, work, work seems to get in the way. And, then, of course, there’s that little thing called money. It takes quite a bit of that to invest in more instruments — as I’m sure you know very well.

    Haven’t seen you on here in ages, and then I saw your name come up on my reader today. I like the new theme.

    Like

  2. Thank you Sandra.
    I like the new look over at your place too.
    Yeah, I rarely have the time it takes for an old guitarist who plays by “ear” alone to learn songs anymore, but, I still love to work on them in some way. My daughter on the other hand, was 1st chair on the flute all through high school… and now she can’t, or doesn’t even want to remember where she stored the thing… Oh well, we all have our personal dreams… I have recently traded the “Surf” daddy project for another “Telecaster” style which I love most of all. This one is all flowery-to the Girlish side even…black guitar with pink carnation flowery. But, I’m working on it. Not going to strip it down… just working on a Pick-guard that will dull the overall flower effect a bit… and maybe give it more of a “leather and lace” look… can’t be seen playing a girls guitar ya no… lol
    Really, WHO CARES.. it sounds good.
    God Bless

    Like

Please let us know you were here- like, or leave a comment. It only takes a second.

